Unable to connect to pcm - Chevy Impala SS Forum
Impala SS Forum
Go Back   Chevy Impala SS Forum > 91-96 Impala/B-body > PCM Programming/Engine Management
New User? Register - Forgot Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2012, 04:55 PM
wheatstraw25 wheatstraw25 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 21
wheatstraw25 is on a distinguished road
Default Unable to connect to pcm

I recently had issues with my transmission on a 95 impala. I wanted to rule out everything before pulling the trans so I tried to connect to the pcm and run live data. The scanner was unable to connect to pcm. I tried pushing the wires on the back of the connector to make sure there was contact . I also checked cigarette lighter fuse and fuse under the hood on the passenger side. They were good. After that, I pulled a pcm from a 95 caprice at the junkyard and dropped it in. I was still not able to connect to the pcm and still don't have second and overdrive. I've been working at this for a few weeks and I am close to doing something crazy like putting her up for sale. Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-16-2012, 05:54 PM
jasonlachapelle's Avatar
jasonlachapelle jasonlachapelle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,366
jasonlachapelle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Have you successfully scanned before ? What setup and software are you running ? Can we assume you plugged the pin into the correct socket ? Is it also safe to assume that by "live data" you aren't referring to the D900 live PCM data code reader, which is OBD2 only ?


Generally, being unable to connect to the pcm is a result of:

1) Having the wrong com port selected; or
2) If using a serial to USB adapter, having an unsupported model.
__________________
Jason
1996 Roadmaster Wagon
1995 Caprice Wagon
1987 Buick Regal Turbo T
1998 Buick Riviera
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-16-2012, 08:48 PM
1slow96's Avatar
1slow96 1slow96 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dayton , Ohio
Posts: 4,886
1slow96 is on a distinguished road
Default Unable to connect to pcm

When I faced this situation,I ended up running a new single wire from the data link all the way to the PCM ,problem solved. I still don't know where the "open" is,but it doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-12-2012, 09:21 PM
CapriceLt1 CapriceLt1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kenmore, NY
Posts: 197
CapriceLt1 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to CapriceLt1
Default

Get a hold of EagleMark if the problem persists. Hes awesome with PCM's
__________________
'94 9C1 R.I.P
'95 9C1 "Cordelia" Dual Cone Intake, LT4 Knock Module, H pipe w/2.50" exhaust pipes and glass packs, turndowns before rear axle
'81 Chevy Stepside Pickup, (project) 350/350 Combo with 4:11's in rear
'89 Kawasaki EX500 (ninja)-I had to buy a fuel efficient vehicle 50mpg
'Cordelia'
tuner pro RT, 52mm TB, Pypes 2.5" X pipe with Flowmaster 40's and PAINT! I love to paint
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-13-2012, 09:06 AM
Rocko350's Avatar
Rocko350 Rocko350 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mount Airy,MD
Posts: 3,645
Rocko350 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

No second and 4th indicates an issue with the band in the trans or one of it control pieces like the piston and accumulator on the side of the transmission. Its possible you chopped a seal or cracked a piston in there. Look through the stickies in the drivetrain section for further troubleshooting. As far as the scanner not communicating, what brand and model number is it?

Chris
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldmaster View Post
I really can't say for sure. Once the roofies kicked in she seemed calm and easy going.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik View Post
My first advice to you is to edit that and call me from a payphone.
94-95 Scan. Free well written diagnostic software
http://www.mediafire.com/?0elo4c935uc5s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-13-2012, 10:47 AM
ProTools4's Avatar
ProTools4 ProTools4 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 4,354
ProTools4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to ProTools4
Default

most likely 2/4 band is done
__________________
NotoriouSS Tad <-- up to no good!
96' ImpalaSS - Johhny 5 - 7.9 @ 89.07 1.734 - sshhhhh......
96' 9C1 - POS / DD / Beater - looking for 30MPG freeway~
67' El Camino - Rosie - 7.9 @ 86.5 1.77 60' on a street tire NA

Click here to check out my EFI tuning Blog!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy Impala SS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
(c) 2007-2014 Impala SS Forum