Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is an old subject but when i did a search of "how-to" i didnt find much help. NAISSO give you a 1 pic directions with their fix-it kit. No offense to regionofdoom.com(Great website) but they dont show the resistor relocation fix-it kit.So here are some pics and step by step directions. hope the URL shows up. This is my first time doing URL links, first time doing the odometer fix, and first time doing soldering. so take it easy on me. If it all shows, hope it helps others in the future if there are any mroe people with odometer probelms anymore.
http://jailerss.com/gallery/adams_mods-Odometer-Fix

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Another way to fix the problem is to just re-soder the resisters.

No kit needed, but you need to know how to soder.

Worked for me.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yes i read you can just resolder them, but for a person who has never taken anything apart on the instrument panel, i figured more indepth pics were needed. doesnt hurt. but i've read if you resolder, it will work and last a while, but will eventually mess up. with the NEW resistor, when i plugged it in and turned hte key on, it heated up HOT to the touch within minutes. so i cant blame the original one messing up.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So this is the only known cause ofor the fading odo?

I thought GM also replaced the digital meter itself.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
to ninety five.