Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to cars and this is my first time really working on my 91 caprice and I was wondering how hard is it to change my intake manifold and carburetor. Which one should I get?

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
You don't have a carburetor unless that's your plan to go to one. Not really any different that any other manifold swap. Just you don't have many or any easy choices for a different manifold. The hole in the back that the distributer goes thru is much larger than standard sb chevys. That's so you can angle in the distributer as it sits under the cowl. The dist is also a unique shorter piece to fit under the cowl. With machine work and possible welding to build up that hole so it can be machine, it can be done from what i've heard.

·
Registered
11,295 Posts
I have opened up the hole on a manifold for a 4bbl. It still fits, and the distributor works. If you are installing a carb, you may have to do more than just install the distributor, because the computer controls the timing. There is no other distributor that will fit under the cowl, because of the height. You probably have a 5.0L, and that is not worth swapping to a carb. Get a 350, and put AFR heads on it, then an aftermarket 4v tbi that can control the stock ignition system

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If I can’t afford just for now a 350 where is a good start. Can u give me specific items to buy because I am not familiar with cars and I want to learn and diy my car projects. I kno I need an aftermarket intake manifold, what else can I do tho, I want new pipes should I do that myself or take it to somebody.?

·
Registered
11,295 Posts