Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I decided to ditch the serpentine belt I had put on the car when I switched to a 200amp alternator that has smaller pulley BEFORE I fix up my alternator.
I'm fairly certain the belt caused the alternator bearings to fail prematurely (right now unless the A/C is on alternator is making ALOT of noise!) as the belt on there since 200amp alternator addition was over an 1" smaller then stock belt when the pulley was only 0.2" smaller in diameter then stock alternator pulley...anyways went and got a belt thats only a quarter inch smaller then stock belt length and now my question is...
Can someone PLEASE recommend somewhere to get new QUALITY bearings for my alternator??? as I see many little kits out there and obviously I assume ebay is DEF a bad choice but I'd like to get a nice quality set if possible
And if I studied up on CS144 alternators correctly it looks like I need a front bearing and then a rear needle bearing as well as a race?

Thanks for any help!!!

·
Registered
3,245 Posts

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
the link below will help as well. I read up for a long time on alternators before I decided to actually build my own. I couldnt see paying $500.00 plus dollars for something I could do myself.

I called Spring Hill and the owner took alot oftime with me on the phone. He was a huge help! I ordered everything and it was really a snap. Since than I have rebuilt a dozen or so for my buddies as well.

http://www.springhillautoelectric.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=502

Also, the bearings alot of time stick to the shaft when you pull the casing off.It's important that when you use the bearing puller you take your time and try not to break the old bearing. It can be a real pain if you dont have the right tools. But sometimes they come off real easy.

Be glad to help with pointers if need be. But is not too bad

·
Registered
417 Posts