Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to potentially swap my 94 head unit to one that fits 95-up with a bluetooth mod - however, although the plugs apparently work fine, I understand the 94 unit is shorter and thus the 95-96 unit will stick out a bit. I'm trying to figure out whether I can modify the 95-96 head unit to fit (or the car, I suppose). Any info / thoughts would be great -

Thanks,

·
Registered
1995 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham
1,560 Posts
If there is a difference, then it's news to me. I would have said they were the same.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Doing a quick search on Crutchfield it appears that the Impalas may have all been 1.5 DIN. I have a 96 Roadmaster wagon and that has a Double DIN. It appears, accordign to Crutchfield, that the 1996 was the only year the Roadmasters were Double DIN. I didn't bother to check the Caprice wagons.

Crutchfield could be wrong, but according to their site, none of the 1994-1996 Impalas had Double DIN units. A buddy of mine that has done stereo installations since 1993 was very surprised that my 1996 had a Double DIN, he assumed being GM that it would be a 1.5 DIN.

You would not be able to modify the larger (Double DIN) head unit to fit a 1.5 DIN location. You would need to modify the opening for the larger head unit to fit into. The 1.5 DIN is 25% shorter than the Double DIN

·
Registered
1995 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham
1,560 Posts
Doing a quick search on Crutchfield it appears that the Impalas may have all been 1.5 DIN. I have a 96 Roadmaster wagon and that has a Double DIN. It appears, accordign to Crutchfield, that the 1996 was the only year the Roadmasters were Double DIN. I didn't bother to check the Caprice wagons.