Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just like the title says....i was thinking about trying it...i'm good a welding and have tools to cut the pipe....it doesn't look hard...i was going to set it up like its a 4into 1 setup with one collector near where the tranny starts

· Registered
3,886 Posts
Well i guess if you have ALOT of time and MONEY go for it...

There not expensive to just buy,and with so many (cheap) options i dont think you will get much feedback on making your own.

Now some twin turbo headers for lt1 b-bodys or headers for lsx swap would be interesting;)

· Premium Member
724 Posts
The collectors and merges are expensive if you want a quality part, but if you have the time and patience to work out a routing that fits then go for it. Do be aware that it's a major pain in the ass, however.

· Premium Member
8,750 Posts
I have no experience in this area......but I would hazard a guess that if you didn't get it right with the first attempt, it'd be a monumental waste of resources with a negative cost vs benefit ratio.

Still......if you 'go there', I wish you luck.......and would hope that you'd post a write-up with plenty of pics!!!

KW

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
it would be for a lq4 swap that i hope to do soon....it just seems like the headers are all over $600 for a nice set....u can buy nice flanges for the ls1 type heads for $25 each and then buy a build ur own header kit with 1 5/8 primaries for around 150-200 for the nice set or under 100 for the cheaper stuff.....its a drag car so everything is open and out of the way...no inner fenders or anything...i could cut everything fit it into place tac everything for fitment and if i like it tac it some more and pull them off and weld them up

i know speed and performance makes them but if i remember right they are close to 700

· Registered
155 Posts