Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone here have any experience with the older benzes? my girl is looking to purchase a 89 SEL benz and i was wondering how good of a car they are. reliable? any common problems i should be awarw of? Easy to maintain? its a great deal i think, One owner, 122K miles, maintenance records.they are asking $1800. she really likes this car but i thought i would ask my fellow members here for some input if any.
thanks

·
Premium Member
5,791 Posts
I have some experience with old Benz's!

One time, oh, 25-years ago, my dad's Cadillac stopped running on the side of I-80, and a guy in an old Mercedes from like the 1970's picked us up and drove us to the truckstop.

Also, Lebanese guy that owned the car wash I worked at when I was younger had a great big gold 80's Mercedes that he actually brought over here with him from Lebanon. He was a horrible driver. One time I was riding with him and he almost ran over a guy, then he stopped and rolled down his window to apologize. He managed to get the driver's door caved in at one point, so he found a green door someplace. He tried to spray paint it gold, but it was a horrible job.

:D

·
Registered
443 Posts
Those are the best cars made in the history of the whole entire world.
Your thinking of the 123/126 series last built in 85-86. Probably the most dependable car ever built and most are still running as taxi cabs everywhere except here in NA.

The 89 SEL is a nice car but no where near the "S" class (126). Has a much better interior and lots more buzzers and bells but that also comes with multiple layers of electronics that are problematic. The gas engines are not trouble prone especially the 4.3. Stay away from the 5.6 as they are a money pit. If it has the 6 cyl diesel, make sure the con-rod recall has been done, if not, you are SOL as it only applied to original owners.