Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello , im a newbie to this forum. Ive always been a truck guy , still am , i also have a 65 suburban. I like to see if anyone has any pics of rear setups as far as air goes , i pretty much have the front handled. Your input is grately appreciated. Here is a pic of my caprice.

W

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
You have to get the extended control arms because the rear wheel will start going into the door jam.

You have to notch a crossmember for the driveline, i had to notch out my driveline tunnel a little bit.

Have to notch the frame. Cut off the bumpstop mounts and the nipples where the coilsprings go. Make custom bag mounts. Thats about it

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Just a note, but those mods are only needed if you want to "lay frame". If you just want to put the rear on air it's a pretty straight forward deal; just replace the coil springs with a bag and mount in the stock location.

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input , you answered all my questions . Pretty much thought i had to do all that ,but wasnt sure. Ill post some pics up when i get it done.
thnx

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Originally posted by Wagon Boy:
You have to get the extended control arms because the rear wheel will start going into the door jam.

You have to notch a crossmember for the driveline, i had to notch out my driveline tunnel a little bit.

Have to notch the frame. Cut off the bumpstop mounts and the nipples where the coilsprings go. Make custom bag mounts. Thats about it
i'll second that

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
haha, i looked at the photo of the blue caprice above me, and (at first) thought he had some sort of hood scoop or big ram air thing... then i realized it was a lawnmower...

ok, so i spent all day spraypainting furniture inside today, lost a few brain cells.

and I will "third that"
except for the part of needing extended control arms...