Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reading up on header and exhaust options for my car (95 ss) im still a little confused. I only have a k&n cai intake and trickflow intake elbow (home plate delete) so i wanna add headers and exhaust mostly for horsepower and for the sound but also hopefully pass inspection (i live in ny). Can anybody tell me what my two best header and exhaust combos for my situation are.

Thank you

·
Registered
4,911 Posts
everyone going to say tri-y's
so look up CIA tri-y's

·
Registered
296 Posts
i'm not an expert but i think the only smog legal headers are hooker super comp shorties,bbk, and edelbrock shorties, as far as catbacks im sure youl get many suggestions but my pick is the 2 1/2" hooker aerochamber catback

·
Registered
4,911 Posts
i read about them being really good but will i pass inspection with them?
i have no clue. i have SLP and they pass all inspections just will be a pain to find some and if you do they will be HIGH!!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
i'm not an expert but i think the only smog legal headers are hooker super comp shorties,bbk, and edelbrock shorties, as far as catbacks im sure youl get many suggestions but my pick is the 2 1/2" hooker aerochamber catback
outta those 3 whic are the best

·
Premium Member
20,353 Posts
outta those 3 whic are the best
I wouldn't waste the money or effort to install the Hookers or the Edelbrocks.

So by process of elimination........

BTW, I'd hold off until I could score some Street Legal Performance (SLPs) or Arizona Speed & Marine (AS&M's) if you're dead set on going the 'shorty' route.

As for exhaust systems.....Dynomax.

KW

·
Registered
654 Posts