Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got the email from Aaron at clear image that my new Gen II tri y headers will ship out tomorrow so now the teardown for the cam swap begins. I will be installing a CC 503 cam to go with the 10" 3000 stall converter that I have. Any suggestions and tips would be greatly appreciated since I have never done this to a LT1 engine before. I hope to have it all hooked up and fired up at least by early next week. Im only gonna work on it a few hours a day so as not to rush anything or run out of daylight. Im also gonna get my shift point bumped up to 6300 rpm as well. The tranny has been holding up superbly with the CC 305 cam and 6000 rpm shift point and I hope it continues.

·
Premium Member
8,454 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
nest

i guess this is what happens when your car sits for almost a year...i found a damn squirrels nest when i took the home base off and also found 3 wasp/hornets nests...so far. all of them had dead bugs in em and the rodent nest was cotton and nut shells. and to think that i have been driving my car like this for the past few weeks. thats crazy. no surprises mechanically though. will keep posted as i continue.

·
Premium Member
8,454 Posts
Check all of your wiring. Rodents love to nipple on wires.

·
Registered
654 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
IIRC without any mods to the factory block, I don't think that you would want to take your shift points to 6300, may want to rethink and take them down a notch, but I could be wrong, just something that came to mind.