Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello my fellow Super Sporters :)

I am a newbie, I wanted some help on buying my caprice.....so i could turn it into an impala ss clone.....eg. like what year resembles the impala ss the most?

Thaksn in advance 212CAPRICESS

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
for the rear fenders (non-skirted.) 94, 95 96 like listed above,
The only diffrence on the 94 exterior wise is the mirrors and back corner windows..but 94 impalas had these same ones.

But if you want to get into detail on Impala interiors it will vary:

the 94/95 has the digital cluster and column shift (just like a 94-96 caprice)

ONLY the 96 Impala had a floor shifter, and an Analog cluster (kinda like the z28 cluster)

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank guys............. anyone...anymore advices???

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
id suggest a 95-96 ive sat in a few and the mirrors are much better than 94's

plus you wouldnt have to get new rear quarter window glass to make it look closer to an SS.......unless you like to do mods like that

whatever year you choose, you will learn to love and hate these cars........but mostly love them

J

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'd go with the 95 or 96, because of the mirrors and the rear quarter glass look better. I'd also try to get one with a regular gauge cluster. I've heard they are easier, than a digital, to switch to the Z28 dash, or a 96 impala gauges. The digital dash is nice but no tach. I'd also look at the seats. Try to find one with good leather, IMO nicer than cloth seats. Bucket seats in the front would make it easier to install the 96 imp console and shifter. Wouldn't have to replace the seats like you would have to with the 60/40 front seats. Make sure you get the LT1 engine, and not the 305.

L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7