Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Reading in a manual it say there is no adjustment. I would like to bring it down a bit because it like to take off when in gear. If I bump it in neutral it takes significantly less breaking power to stop then if I am in gear. I does not like to come down under 1K for a few seconds after stopping.

Any thoughts?

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Mark,
If I'm not mistaken (I'm new to this) the pcm controls the idle. Perhaps someone like Bryan (who is awesome to work with) could do something for you. I know recently I had a problem with mine idling too low (would stall at lights while in gear) and it was a matter of just removing the IAC motor and cleaning it. Hope this helps.

J

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My 94 ISS idle speed has always been too high but I think that is normal. I have read here and other LT1 sources say they have to keep their foot firmly planted on the brake at stoplights. This brings up another problem. I sometimes put my car in Park at stop lights to avoid this 'Hold the car back with the brakes'. The problem with the 'put it in Park until the light turns green' is -when it does turn green and you drop it in 'Drive' and depress the accelerator to go, the slow as molasses 4L60E doesn't engage quickly enough and it as though you rev'ed the engine and dropped it into Drive.A neutral drop! Not good for the trans. Anyone else have this problem?

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The strong pull at idle is at least in part due to the very low stall speed of the stock TC. And the reason the engine does not just completely shut down to a 550rpm idle when you lift your foot is so that it still revs high enough to produce vacuum to operate the brakes. All this can be adjusted in the pcm by any competent custom tuner, just a few of the many ways custom pcm works makes the car more "drivable". I would also look for a dirty IAC of just TB in gerneral.

L

·
0 Posts