Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 95 FWB-

@!#$ knock sensors: Aagh. I've been carrying around new knock sensors for a few years because the old ones wouldn't come out.
All I accomplished this time was to make the tack-welded tops on both knock sensors break loose and spin.. Great.
Can't fit a pipe wrench or vise-grips in there. Can't fit a basin wrench in there. Don't have a welder to re-weld the socketed tops to the sensors. Ahh, well, reconnect the wires and forget it.

"Use-whatcha-got" flush trick--I didn't have any suitable rubber caps around so, after disconnecting and back-flushing the heater core, I reinstalled the heater lines and clamped them off to prevent circulation. Disconnected the steampipe hose to the coolant reservoir and plugged it with a bolt. Okay. The radiator and engine top were empty, but how to get out old stuff from the bottom half of the engine? See picture below. I removed the thermostat (breaking a bolt in the process). Used vise-grips to pull the rest of the bolt out, then scrounged for half an hour to find a suitable replacement bolt. Disconnected the hose from the bottome of the radiator, put the old outflow hose on the thermostat housing, flipped around the new silicone top hose to direct outflow to the ground, added a 1x6board to direct the flow, stuck a garden hose in the top hose and cranked the engine. Watched it belch out old coolant for a minute until it ran clear, then shut it off. Put as much as I could of 2 gallons new antifreeze into the thermostat opening and radiator, re-installed the thermostatre and connected/unclamped all hoses. Yes, it's now a mix of Prestond and tap water, but I didn't really feel like going to the store for ten gallons of distilled water to flush the system, and I suspect the Covid-19 hoarders would have bought it all, anyway.