Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. Got a issue that has me wondering if this is the problem all along or not. I have a 94 Roadmaster with the LT1 and I have replaced the coolant temp sensor and the coolant temp sensor for the gauge. I have also replaced the thermostat as well. My issue is that my gauge sits at the first quarter mark and I have gone through to the climate control diagnostics and entered it to 24 and it is saying 90 and stays right at 90. I have also gone to I believe it is 6 or 8 and it reads 173. My issue is that both fans are running and yes the ac is off but the fans stay running and don't shut off unless you turn the car off. Is it possible that the new sensor is bad or could possibly be that the 26 year old connector finally died and now the fans will stay on because of this? The other issue I'm having is that it is a gas hog right now and has a slight hesitation at idle and definitely doesn't like a load on it when driving. I thought maybe it was because of when I did the head swap to camaro heads, the three grounds weren't grounded good on the head. I went ahead and cleaned off the grounds and the engine block and installed it there. Didn't improve the issue but I will admit that my under hood light is a lot brighter now(yes I did the big 3 upgrade from innovative wiring). If it is the connector, anyone have info in testing it. No scan yet because I ordered one today from 1320 electronics. It does have a new optispark distributor that I took apart and removed the optical sensor and put in my mitsu sensor in and used the Accel cap and rotor with msd wires and autolite plats and upgraded to the 96 coil and icm. It's a project car and I am slowly getting everything for it so it can be ready for the cam swap. Thank you

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
Following is an experienced GUESS: