Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dears .. thanks for accepting me as a member in your forum

My story is not too long .. I have impala 96 I swapped the engine to 6.0 small block and since that day the engine is overheated I replaced the radiator but still the same .. my friend told me to change the fans but I'm not sure if that's going to work

I live in Dubai (middle east) and the temperature in summer reach 50 Celsius

Is there anything I can add to the car which will make it cooler

I attached the pictures to let you know how the engine look like

Please I need your suggestions to make my car better … this is my dream car since I was 8 years old and now I'm thinking to sell the car after 4 months of work

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,514 Posts
I'm not an expert on this, but I do believe your fans are on the wrong side of the radiator. I see too that you have 2 different types of fan blades. You might want to look at some new fans. I may be wrong on this though. I do know about summer in that part of the world, Been there done that, 50C is about what Oklahoma is in the summer. One last thing. DON"T let your dream get away from you.

Mark: Snowman-33

·
Registered
6,743 Posts
Fans on both sides of radiator are definitely blocking air flow. Especially if working against each other. Stock GM fans are highly effective,and what I recommend. Along with replacing that busted top support. Damaged/missing airdam(s) under the core support also contribute to overheating issues. Last,but not least. Install a 160 degree thermostat,along with re-programmming fan turn on temps. Along with a manual fan switch for added confidence/insurance..

·
Registered
10,915 Posts