Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Good Day All,

Before you 馃敟 me for asking about engine upgrades, please read on...then if you feel needed, flame on.

1st, I have read through the following thread and many like it on this forum, great information but I am quite ignorant to engines. I have tried my best to understand and help myself, but would like some input:
LT1 Camshaft/Valve Train Selection Guide

Here is my situation:
I have a 1996 Roadmaster Wagon (LT1) that I purchased in 2017 and have not done much with it. This fall/winter I originally intended to upgrade the suspension to QA1 Coilovers and replace the steering components and upgrade the stereo. Well, the project has snowballed. As I remove things, I find things easier to get to and figure "while I am in here". There are several things that I am working on, which is leading to pulling the engine and trans to have the trans rebuilt/upgraded and I have a rear main seal leak and possibly a front one as well.

Since the engine is out, I am wondering if there are any maintenance or upgrades that I should consider, car has around 118K on the clock. Here is more information to help with suggestions.

Below are some drivetrain things that have been or are being done:
The car currently has the Bailey LTCC Setup for ignition, link below:
Bailey LTCC setup
I will be adding GenII Try-Y Headers with High Flow Cats and a SSRI from Clear Image Automotive
Car has 2.5" exhaust
Intend to rebuild the rear with 3.42 gears and Posi

Would I need to change out the torque converter?

The car is already fairly quick, but looking to improve on that. This car will not be tracked, so I am not looking for the fastest 1/4 mile. I may run it on a track for fun or an AutoX with a local car club, but nothing for competition purposes, just fun.