Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm pulling out the L03 and 700R4 combo in my 91' wagon to use in another project. The transmission shifts very slowly and softly, nice for grandpa's cruiser, but I dislike it. Besides, I feel like the soft shifts are going to kill the trans sooner. I'd like to firm up the shifts a bit and I'm thinking a "corvette servo", like what's in an LT1 car, might do the trick. Thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
4,540 Posts
Just for reference, the “Corvette” servo only increases clamping load in second gear. And, if you install it without adjusting the shift feed hole orifice, it’ll actually shift slower than the servo piston that’s in there.

I have no experience with 700R4 shift modifications. The advice above is useful.

·
Registered
1993 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Driftwood Metallic 5.8 Vortec TBI
281 Posts
street strip i used this kit. he calls or email you for details of your particular objective. I liked he had cryoed accumlator housing and pistons. I had a complete rebuild done locally and used his shift kit. moderate to firm shifts depending how hard im on it for every gear. I also used big 4th apply

·
Registered
401 Posts
Dana's "heavy duty" kit will be fine. the bigger 4th servo is only necessary if you are making WOT 3-4 shifts often or heavy towing. do not get caught up in gimmick servos, the vette servo is FINE for 95% of builds. Dana offers new Transgo separator plates that he will pre-drill to your tastes. I would not recommend going overboard here. VERY easy to make 1-2 shift to firm, i usually leave it stock but no bigger than .070"ish range unless using a small diameter torque converter. it is very hard to make 4th shift to firm, i block the 4th accumulator feed and discard the piston and spring, Dana does the same thing in his kits.