Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
897 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm running a set of Intrax lowering springs and in need of new shocks. What are the current options for a lowered daily driver?

I have bell tech nitro drop shocks that have been great for the last 12 years but they are at the end of their life and summit doesn't have them for the front anymore.

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
I'm partial to the Bilstein's,and don't believe lowering makes much difference as the minimum travel is unchanged. Basically the piston inside the shock rides lower in the tube...

·
Premium Member
2,539 Posts
I've been rolling on Bilsteins for the last 13 years, in two different cars. I was/am very happy with the ride they provide.

When I first installed them there was quite a noticeable difference from the cheapo shocks that were installed on my 9C1 when I first bought it.

After wrecking the 9C1 I transferred them onto the current ride in my SIG picture, and swapped those out for new in the fall of last year.

·
Registered
11,051 Posts
I have stock length shocks on the rear of my wagon, and drop shocks on the front. The only issue I have is that the front tire comes off of the ground before the rear when I jack it from the rear. To change the rear tire, I have the whole side of the car off of the ground. The front wheel is about 3 inches off when the rear finally decides to lift. I can not put drop springs on the back, and still get the 255s out from under the fenders.

·
Registered
897 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Bilsteins seem to be the most recomended so I'm definatley considering them. $90 each from Summit. Any better pricing out there? Or opinions on other brands? Not looking for Gabriel "quality" but if there's co parable options for less, the vacation fund grows faster.

·
Registered
11,051 Posts