Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm new to this thread and hopefully someone can help me out. I recently purchased a 1996 impala ss. Okay so im trying to replace my fusible links. Not sure if I should repair them or run a new link from aux post to where they connect to.
I see its 2 wires connected togther at the ring terminal. Does one connect to the starter solenoid and the other to the alternator?
Should I just repair them by cutting the heat shrink tubing and connecting the new one from there or just run a new wire all the way to where they connect to?

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
I just checked my 94 FSM and two online services for 96 diagrams. I am fairly sure there are no fusible links in the car anywhere.(94-96)

I have been thinking of adding them on the alternator wire and the line to the fuse box. It is common in other cars of this time period.

I would start by getting a factory service manual .

·
Registered
11,101 Posts
If the factory did not put them there, you are making your car more complicated than necessary.

·
Registered
3,013 Posts
Fusible links went the way of the dodo bird with introduction of high current under hood fuses. In our cases in the fuse box, often at the battery pos+ terminal. Plug and play installation vs cut and splice.

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Fusible links went the way of the dodo bird with introduction of high current under hood fuses. In our cases in the fuse box, often at the battery pos+ terminal. Plug and play installation vs cut and splice.
I have been poking around the panther car's diagrams and it looks like ford was using them in the 1992-2011 period. When they talk about upgrading alternators on line the fusible link is mentioned.
I agree with Fred's KISS (keep it simple) theory but either ford's engineers or lawyers thought a way to disconnect the alternator from a short, or disconnect the car from a shorting out alternator was a good idea.

·