Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have my eye on a roadmaster that lacks the limited slip differential. Is it possible to remove the cover and change the gears inside to make a limited slip?. If so has anyone done this or what is involved. Where can you buy the internals of the gear case?.

·
Registered
10,905 Posts
There are locker rears that can be inserted in place of the spider gears, but from what I understand, they are not going to make you happy. Jegs and Summit both carry them.

To replace the gear carrier with an LSD, will require that the mesh be reset. Since the carriers and LSD are not always exactly the same, the gear mesh can be off enough to make the gears whine. It can be done, but may not be worth the effort.

If you are going to swap the carriers, you should also consider changing the gear ratio. It is a little more work, but you can get better performance.

Unless you are going to be driving in a lot of snow, or racing, a LSD is not really necessary.

·
Registered
94 Posts
I am also looking at a Roadmaster with an open rear end. The other bummer is the 2.56 gears. I am finding that looking online you can still score used rear ends for these cars with posi and better gears if you look hard enough. Keep in mind that Roadmaster rear ends are slightly narrower than "94-'96 Caprice and Impala SS rear ends. I just learned that on this site last week.

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
IF you're not changing gears, installing a limited slip is not that difficult and should not have any gear noise issues. You just need to get a good preload on the new carrier bearings and then adjust to the same back lash as you had previously.

·
Registered
6,740 Posts
I'd at least install new carrier bearings,along with axle bearings/seals.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
G80 limited slip