Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i do my own body work i can weld and alot of mechanical work but im not good at pricing mybe you guys can give me some help. Heres what i got this guy has a 1969 lemans convertible it needs a full tune up oil changed flush radiator cut out some rust on the frame and weld in a new piece of steel the driver quarter panel needs a good amount of body work sand the whole car prime it and if i think i can do it paint it the factory metallic blue how much do you think i should charge this guy.

· Registered
1,998 Posts
i do my own body work i can weld and alot of mechanical work but im not good at pricing mybe you guys can give me some help. Heres what i got this guy has a 1969 lemans convertible it needs a full tune up oil changed flush radiator cut out some rust on the frame and weld in a new piece of steel the driver quarter panel needs a good amount of body work sand the whole car prime it and if i think i can do it paint it the factory metallic blue how much do you think i should charge this guy.
This is what I'd charge him:

Plugs - 1 hours
Wires - 1hours
Cap/Rotor - 1.5 hours
Oil Change - $20
Radiator Flush - $30 + coolant

I can't help you with the body work stuff.

· Registered
11,651 Posts
I would charge him the most you can get. You have to figure on the amount of agrivation you will encounter. He will expect bodyshop speed, and will bug you to death if you do not have it done in a week. I would not do it for less than what a body shop would. How much do you think you are worth per hour? Selling your time for less than you are worth is a disservice to you and your family.

· Registered
1,189 Posts
If your trying to get into the business 15hun isnt to bad to get your name out there and get you noticed but make sure the guy buys all materials. figure out how long its going to take you and for every three weeks add a week for cushion.

· Registered
285 Posts