Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, Im in the process of installing my new headers, so far so good. I started with the difficult side, passenger side. Not too bad, all bolts came right off with none of them breaking. I do have one question. What is this hook-up behind the passenger side manifold? Im assuming it's something related to the AIR pump which in that case mine has been deleted.

I plan on tackling the removal of my driver side manifold over the weekend. Should be a lot easier. let me know if you have any questions. All inputs and tips are welcome since this is my first time doing so.

·
Registered
835 Posts
Thats the EGR Pipe

Tips = ummmm

Start all the bolts before tighten - especailly the EGR pipe

Give a good bend to the dipstick and ac lines before dropping in header

·
Registered
2,685 Posts
Thats for your EGR, its connected to the back of your intake manifold. You will need the block off plates if you dont have the EGR hook up on your headers

·
Registered
654 Posts
nope thats the egr pipe that goes to the back of the intake manifold. if its been deleted then it should be programmed out of your computer from what i hear. also heard that it will cause problems if not hooked up but im not completely sure. look it up one of the stickies. let me know how the install goes. i just got my set of gen II last friday and will be putting them on in the next week or so.

·
Registered
2,685 Posts
Thats for your EGR, its connected to the back of your intake manifold. You will need the block off plates if you dont have the EGR hook up on your headers
Eshaw....isnt that what i just said?

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So given my 2 options, should I get block-off plates or try and get a header with EGR hook-up? Looking for easy effective route. Thanks for the inputs.

·
Registered
3,922 Posts