Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just bought a 95 caprice with what i thot was an Lt1(im a noob) but what turns out to be the L99..i checked the vin # and had the w not the p....is this a chump engine, a wannabe LT1 or is it a decent all around engine?

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
It is a good engine and will serve a comuter well, good milage and trouble free. If you find yourself wanting more power a LT1 is a simple boltin, just did it a few months ago.

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Thanatos:
i just bought a 95 caprice with what i thot was an Lt1(im a noob) but what turns out to be the L99..i checked the vin # and had the w not the p....is this a chump engine, a wannabe LT1 or is it a decent all around engine?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Suffers from all the same maladies that an LT1 suffers from (Optispark, intake oil leaks, exhaust manifold/bolt problem, hard-to-change plug wires...ummm...shall I go on? :D ). Perfectly good engine, unless you like to spin the tires. ;)

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have a Civi with the L99 and I can tell you it's so much weaker then the LT1. I bought an LT1 9C1 car about a year after I got the civi and theres a ton of difference. The L99 feels slow and sluggish and can't even break the tires free. The LT1 on the other hand can spin them on command.

You can always sell that car and pick up a cheap LT1 car or you can bolt up an LT1 into the current car, but it will cost some $$$ to buy one.

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
opps i thought it was brandon not getting the lt1
I feel sorry for you Thanatos. i know how it is i have driven a l99 and a lt1 oh yeah there is a diff

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Daywalker:
opps i thought it was brandon not getting the lt1<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Brandon is selling his 9C1 LT1 to get an LS1. It won't be in a b-body though. ;)

M

·