Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

Looking for mid range/high end box body radio

911 views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  MWP 
#1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to the fourm, and recently picked up a 89 Caprice Wagon (I know this is really a 1991-1996 fourm, but I figured I'd start here).

I was wondering if anyone has a working mid range radio (one with tape deck) or high end (one with equalizer) radio for a box body Caprice. Looking for one with the wood grain (not burshed metal) face.

Thanks.

#2 ·
Before anyone jumps in with just go to the junk yard, the OP lives in a low population area of Canada that is coastal so picking may be slim.

If someone does not jump into this thread, do you know what type of electrical connectors are on the back? Your car may share connectors with the newer radios. If you have the dash apart a picture of the current radio front and back would help even just the front would help. If you have been shopping on the internet a rough year range would help.

If your radio is not smaller than the newer ones (I think it is smaller) and you do not mind electrical work, you would have a lot of choice.

#3 ·
I have:
  • 86-90 AM/FM only with woodgrain
  • 91-96 AM/FM cassette base
  • 91-93 Buick AM/FM cassette with EQ

I may have the correct woodgrain dash bezel so you could use the Buick radio in the Caprice dash. Somewhere. I had a single DIN in my old 88 Caprice (that the AM/FM is from). I'm sure they're still available, though. Like this:

#4 ·
Thanks jayoldschool, but I'd really prefer the mid or high range radio (high range is what I currently have).

I may get in touch with you in a bit if I can't find one with a tape player.

Attached is a picture of what I'm looking for. The midrange is basically the same thing without the equalizer.

Attachments

#6 ·
That parts search site is SWEET. I happened to find one through a semi local junkyard (3 hours away) for $40. $60 including shipping. Hopefully it works when it arrives :) Thanks for the tip