Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im a newbie and have a 94 chevy impala stock engine and exhaust i was wondering about getting some flowmasters to start to give my car that mean sound while starting and while driving, i dont want cray loud pipes but just have that mean sound lol, like i said im a newbie and i hope you guys can provide me with great info on flowmasters or i hear borla is good as well thanks

·
Premium Member
849 Posts
Greetings left coast newbie. If you're just looking for a change in sound and are not too concerned about a power improvement, you might consider deleting the mufflers while keeping the resonators.

If you'd like a little extra boost in power, you may want to consider one of the cat-back options from the sticky at the top of the page. There are many from which to choose. All have varying degrees of volume and different tones. Plus, their larger diameter pipes free-up a few extra horsepower.

Personally, I'm not a fan of Flowmasters. They have a little wheeze/whistle noise that reminds me of an old VW Beetle and compared to other brands they don't flow all that well.

From my own use and observations...

Turbo mufflers (Summit, Dynomax) are very tame at idle but have a nice growl under acceleration.

Magnaflows are a little louder at idle and have a great mellow tone when you get on it.

Hooker Aero Chambers are fairly loud and have a very deep tone. These, when used without an X or H pipe, are my favorites.

All the Spintech mufflers I've heard are either loud or really loud and can be a touch raspy at times.

Flowmasters, of course, are very popular with Mustang owners and guys who are fond of other men. They should be outlawed. Anyone who doesn't agree with me is a Nazi-sympathizing, America-hating squirrel molester and should have his forum privileges suspended.