Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok this is probably something answered many times before but im new to this so here goes..

got my car about 2 months ago.. odometer worked fine.. after 2 weeks.. it started getting dim.. after a month.. it disapeared.. completely.. ok fine.. no big deal ill live without it.. then i go to kill a bug on my dash.. i hit it and .. the odometer slowly fades back.. to VERY BRIGHT.. probably too bright.. worked great for about 3 days.. and then dies again.. i heard about a resistor in the cluster or something.. anyone got more info this.. and is this a "Do-it yourselfer"

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Larry is basically right.

Don't waste the time inspecting. Just prepare to replace them. The solder joints are probably gone.

NAISSO makes a kit that moves the resistors and has a MUCH larger heat sink.

I just finished that repair last night on #2. I took some pictures, but many are blurry, so I won't get to finish my writeup until I do the repair on #1.

Good luck,

Erik

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I just fixed mine today. Previously, I had just re-soldered the existing resistors and it worked for just a little bit. I found that the resistors themselves were not good anymore.

Save yourself some money and go to Fry's or Radio Shack and buy three 1W 100 ohm resistors and replace the existing ones. Mine cost me a whopping $.95 (that's cents). The kit you buy from the superstore will run you about $15 + shipping and will do the exact same thing. Just be prepared to do a little soldering and be sure to test your continuity before reassembling.

Good luck and let us know how it comes out.

Mike

G

·
G

·
Discussion Starter · #8 ·