Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a 93 Roadmaster 2 days ago. Before driving it home 135 miles, I gassed up and reset the trip meter. The next day I noticed the trip meter only said 58. After looking closer I noticed that neither the Odometer or trip meter are always working. In fact after re-setting the trip meter and driving another 10 miles, neither the odometer or trip meter moved. Speedometer works fine all the time.

It was hit in the left front before I bought it, so I wondered if that might cause the odometer not to work. My son put in a new front core support and radiator before I could drive it home. Now I need to figure out how to replace the fender.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
11,036 Posts
My first guess is that there is a bad circuit board on the cluster. If the speedo works and the odos do not, it means the board is getting a signal from the VSS, but it is not getting to the odos. If you need a board, I have a couple.

The fender is easiest to do if you get one with the brace (not wheelhouse) and the hood hinge attached. You have to unbolt the hood on the side to be swapped, detach the hood strut at the fender (brace the hood), remove the two rows of screws around the wheelhouse 10 & 13mm, the corner of the core support 10mm, bumper cover 10mm, remove the headlight mount 10mm, two beside the vapor cylinder 13mm, one at the rear trianglulators 13mm, one under the foam at the end of the rear hood seal 13mm, one screw under the fender Phillips, and the two at the door hinges 13/15mm (open the door). Make sure you save the shims. You may have to loosen/remove the wheelhouse extension 7/10mm to get the bumper cover low enough to get the fender off.

·
Registered
11,036 Posts