Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok

I have a Pioneer 6400. It has (pretty sure) only 2 RCAs. One is shared with the sub. So in general I am running my front and rear speakers through the front speaker terminal on the wiring harness.

How can I hook up this extra amp I have here? (which is 2 channel so should would powering both front and rear correct?)

Do I have to split the RCA's up with a splitter in order to get a pair to goto both amps? And will I have to run wires to all the speakers or wait I can hook them up at the harness behind the dash correct?

I know basic system stuff but this confuses me.

[ 03-13-2007, 10:36 PM: Message edited by: Joe Malczewski ]
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I must need a splitter or else how would the each side receive the sound the cd player is putting out correct?
 
E

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am not an expert, but tinker around with my car stereos for years. I an not sure what you are asking, but with multiple amps such as two. I'm not sure if you have 2 amps or three. On my system in both my cars, I have one 4ch anp and one sub amp. My Alpine headunit has also two RCA jacks such as your's. I use the rear RCA jack for my 2 subs, and I have a splitter on my front RCA jacks coming out of the radio with the HU RCAs being female ends and I ran two splitter into the front RCA jacks. This gave me side to Lt and Rt control but I can't seperate the front from the back cabin speakers. I can seperate the subs from the cabin speakers though. I have the splitters going all negative on one side and all positive to the other. I hope this anwser will help you. Remember to exclusivly give the sub an RCA jack.
 
U

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What I'm getting out of it is that he has a Headunit with only two RCA outputs, a left and a right, AKA one pair.

He also has a substage amplifier and wishes to add an amp for his high speakers.

First things first, if you're going to power BOTH your front and rear speakers off this one 2 channel amp (a pair of left speakers and a pair of right speakers) you will lose the ability to fade the system front and rear. So your rears may overpower your front speakers.

I would suggest you leave the rears running off the head unit as courtesy speakers for any backseat passengers you may have and only amplify the front speakers. If you get the itch to upgrade your speakers later, I'd leave the rears however they are and focus on the fronts solely.

I havn't rand a rear stage in a car on at least 2 years and have no intentions of running any for a long time.

I can talk more on this later if you wish, but for now, back to the meat and potatoes of your question.

You have a couple options on what you can do depending on what amplifier you get. A lot of amplifiers come with a set of RCA outs along with RCA ins, so if you get an amp with a set of outs you can just run your first set of RCA's from the head unit to the new amp, then run another set of RCAs from the preouts on the new amp to the sub amp you already have.


If the new amp you get does not have a set of RCA outs then you'll need to get 2 RCA splitters and then run to each separate amp.

Personally, if you're already going to be buying a 2 channel amp anyway I'd make sure I got one with a set of preouts...
 
E

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Just go buy a 3 way crossover (40 bucks in my area) and that should solve all of your problems.
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ok,

I see what people are saying. Looks like I will buy a better set of front COMPONANTS and then use my Memphis 300w MAX amp to power the fronts only.

As many have stated, I only have one pair of RCAs so the front and rear speakers are hooked together without the ability to fade (not that big of a deal but yes the rears are noticably louder.

So I can run from my (PG AMP) and use the RCA output and just plug that into this Memphis amp in order to get the sound correct?

Will the headunit know this and use all of the 4x50w outut on the rear speakers or will it still divide by four and only put 25w max to each rear (I know their ratings are BS anyway).

So all I need to do is disconnect the stock power cables running to the front speakers and then connect them to the amp correct?

Thanks for the help!
Joe
 
E

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
For a cleaner install, disconnect the stock power wire and install some new speaker wire about 14 gauge and run them to your Memphis amp. Run the rear speakers off the headunit for 2 x 50 watts each. They should sound great. Run the one set of RCA jack to the Memphis amp and then use the pre-outs to connect to the PG amp or vice-versa. I hope this answers your question.
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
OK

Headunit=2

Send those 2 to my PG ZX500

Connect a 4 sided male RCA to output on ZX500 and Input in Memphis TBX300.

Run brand new thicker wiring to speakers...(necessary if I get components but that is further down the road)

Wire the Rear speakers the same as before except they will also get the unused front speaker connections thus MAKING the headunit output all its got to those rear Pioneer 4-way 6x9.

EDIT

I would also have the fade option, headunit for the rear speakers and the amp for the fronts!

[ 03-13-2007, 10:13 PM: Message edited by: Joe Malczewski ]
 
U

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Just run your rear speakers off the rear channels off the headunit.

Do not try to bridge your head unit as it most likely will not enjoy being ran at 2 ohms.

What headunit do you have anyway?
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Pioneer DEPH6400 or something. The year before they started doin MP3s and WMA....damnit.
 
E

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Sounds you have it ready to hook it Joe. Get to it and e-mail back to tell us how it sounds. Make sure you have all your connections secured before you turn it back on. In-line fuse to from the battery to the amp, 4 gauge wire if you can afford. You're running more power, thus needing bigger power wire to run the current from the battery to the amps. Try to get a 80 - 100 watt fuse to go in the in line and install it 12 in away from the battery. I think you can pick up a fuse holder at any car stereo shop. E-bay or more expensive major retail like Best Buy Circuit City. 4 gauge wire for the ground and attach to metal surface in the trunk. 8 gauge wire to each amp ground and power wire running to their own distribution block. This all makes for a much cleaner install and lot safer than trying to twist tie the think wires together. Of course remote wire is already there so just splice into your new remote wire from the Memphis amp. Don't think you can go wrong with this.
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Ok,

Im pretty excited as I basically have everything in front of me (hope this old set of cables is long enough and need a BETTER set of 6.5") to do this for FREE! My favorite!!!

Got the amp from a friend and tested it to be working. A Fultron TidalWave TXB150 (150w/300w). My Phoenix Gold ZX500 (got for a steal) has outputs and I have GOOD RCAs to go between them.

I have a OLD set, like 4 years, of Pioneer 2 way 6.5", they sound great though just not loud enough, hopefully the amp wont blow them. Wiring I also have and yes it is all done correctly, Im no hack job, except I didnt solder the headunit harness!! :D I love electrical tape.

In short,

Power to Memphis/Fultron150
Ground to Memphis/Fultron150
Remote Turn on to Memphis/Fultron150
Plug RCAs from Phoenix Gold ZX500 output to Memphis/Fultron150 input
Leave Rear Speakers plugged in as front (since only 2 RCA jacks)
Unwire the fronts speakers from Pioneer and GM harness
Run new, thicker wire to Memphis (through door jamb)
Right/Left Pos/Neg front speakers respectively

[ 03-15-2007, 12:11 AM: Message edited by: Joe Malczewski ]
 
E

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
The speaker wire should be 14-16 gauge. Run the rear speakers off of the rear headunit wires. Everything else looks great. Hook it up and let us know how it sounds. If possible take some pics.
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
See here the thing,

I can only select "FRT+REAR" or "FRT+SUB" in my function menu. That is why, for the last 4 years I have had my rears and fronts spliced together, however I have no fade ability and the front ones arent as good as the rears, so they are quieter. This is why I want to amp them up (down the road components, in the summer)

BTW Speaker gauge would be good stuff at least that thick, remember I will be upgrading to components so might as well use good wire. I am running them through the door jambs correct?

[ 03-15-2007, 12:22 AM: Message edited by: Joe Malczewski ]
 
E

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
The speaker wire through the door jambs WOULD be nice and best. I personally was too lazy to go that far and just spliced mine into the existing wiring harness and ran that to the amp. Call me a slacker if you will but, I didn't notice a decrease in sound quality in my front seperates.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top