Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,786 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to owning a wagon so some items are new to me since owning a impala for years but i was wondering on the rear tail gate. my rear cargo lights by the back glass,they come on ONLY when the rear door is opened as a door not as a tailgate.is this normal? also door ajar comes on then but not as a tailgate.

·
Registered
97 Posts
That is normal for the tailgate. At least mine acts the same way that yours does. With the tailgate flipped down, you can turn on the cargo lights with the buttons that are at the lower end of the grab handles.

I dont have a door agar light on the dash. Maybe its burnt out.

·
Registered
248 Posts
That is normal for the tailgate. At least mine acts the same way that yours does. With the tailgate flipped down, you can turn on the cargo lights with the buttons that are at the lower end of the grab handles.

I dont have a door agar light on the dash. Maybe its burnt out.
+2
Mine works same way. tailgate down - no lights, tailgate swung to the side - lights on.
I recently worked on my cluster for other issues and noticed the bulb for "door ajar" was missing. I put in a bulb, and it works now.
I have to slam the tailgate really hard to make the lights go out. I have been meaning to disable the the light switch in the tailgate to the grab handle lights. The manual button would still work.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Yes mine is the same and I don't have a door ajar light either. Maybe in 95 they spent the extra 12 cents. I used to slam my tailgate hard until I noticed the cracks in the sheet metal of the tailgate where the bottom latch/hinge mounts. Watch out for this, it's a weak spot. I'm going to have to weld a patch on there someday soon.

·
Premium Member
2,786 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·