Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,538 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1. Is there an aftermarket source for the clear plexiglas cover for the instrument cluster?

2. Has anyone ever 'polished' or refurbished theirs to remove any scratching or hazing? Mine isn't horrible, but I'd like it to look better.
I actually got a junkyard donor over the weekend, which is also in good condition but does have some light screatching.

I've never tried to refinish plastic before, and have always heard about light abrasives like toothpaste. I was wondering if some Meguiar's fine cut cleaner would help, or some of the Zaino scratch & swirl remover I've got.

Looking for any suggestions or recommendations!

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,566 Posts
Junior. What about using s good headlight restorer? I also have some stuff I bought from a police supply that I used on my light bar. It worked ok but didn't last long. It might be good since it's not exposed to the elements. I would think that you would have to start out sanding it with 600 grit and working up to about 2000.

Mark: Snowman-33

·
Premium Member
2,538 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Junior. What about using s good headlight restorer? I also have some stuff I bought from a police supply that I used on my light bar. It worked ok but didn't last long. It might be good since it's not exposed to the elements. I would think that you would have to start out sanding it with 600 grit and working up to about 2000.

That's true, I hadn't thought of that. I'll talk with my dad since I know bought some of that and used it on my brother's car a while ago. It's prob just sitting on a shelf somewhere in his garage.

That's a good thought.

Also, I wanted to see just for $hits and giggles here whether it was available aftermarket.

·
Premium Member
1,566 Posts