Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to NTB today to get tires for "the cruiser", the tech told me to wait on an alignment becuase I need a new idler arm, center link, and my tie rods should probably be changed as well.
well I dont know all that much about cars to begin with, so seeing that I'm no grease monkey, I have some questions...becuase really I don t know jack about the steering or suspension and crap so....
1)what the hell is an idler arm, whats it do...also, I hear some buzz on the Moog idler arm, how much and is it worth it?

2)how much should all that stuff run me? any clue?

thanks guys
-rock-
Dan

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Welcome to the Forum, Dan. The first thing I would suggest, is for you to respect your Suspension/Front End & Braking Systems. They safely get you where you are going & back. Many hours of engineering have gone into them. Respect leads to easier learning. That said, if I was a novice about car mechanical issues and,"really wanted to learn", I'd get down to the local library & read about the basic operation of the different systems, all automobiles have. I'd also look to befriend someone who is a patient Gearhead(better then library).Also, keep asking questions on this Forum(w/respect until you are knowledgable...then when sh!t happens, then you can go off>lol< ). Over time you will realize there is a treasure troth of TIME & MONEY SAVING(and AGGRAVATION) information here. NOW lets try some answers :(1)The Idler Arm in your car keeps the end of the Center Link(oposite from Pitman Arm) supported and moving freely. Yes, do put the Moog# K6187T Arm on your car, as the stock arm is crap(yes, 'I' can say that). Part cost me $25 & installed myself. You, part & labor $80-$100.(2) Centerlink-Moog#DS899(IMO--in my opinion "INSIST" on MOOG Parts for front end part replacement) $150-$200. Tie-Rod Ends-Outer(2 reg.)Moog#ES2019RLT..Inner(2 reg.)Moog#ES2020RLT $175-$240. Alignment $50-$90 (be care