Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1994 roadmaster sedan. My turn signal switch in the steering wheel emitted little bit o smoke.

Now id like to put a switch on the dash to turn them on manually. Which color wires from the column are for left and right signals?

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
It's not that simple,due to the brake lights go through the turn signal switch also...

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just need to figure out which wire closes the 12v on the flasher relays. Those are seperate from the brakes

·
Premium Member
4,677 Posts
As 1slow96 point ed out , it is not that simple.

There is only one left rear "bright" wire and one right rear "bright" wire .

With the switch in the mid "rest position, the white from brake switch wire is connected to the two rear wires to act as brake lamps.

If you turn right , the white brake wire stays connected to the left rear brake , right wire disconnects and the wire from the flasher connects to it and right front.
Turn left, the opposite happens

If you hook the flasher wire to a on-off-on SPDT switch and run each side to the bright lights on each corner, you will get turn lamps, sure, but lose your brake lamps.

See attached.
To answer your question , purple

Attachments

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Is there not 2 different wires from column that i can use to switch to restore original functions?

also what page is that in the carline book i cant find it? the schedmatic

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
Be a lot easier to swap out the column,or simply replace the turn signal switch,and/or it's wiring. Than to try re-inventing the wheel...

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Was trying to avoid that. I dont have the right tool to take it apart. I cant find the correct wiring diagram

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
Get another column then,they're common as dirt.

·
Registered
149 Posts