Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
J

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've heard that a sealed box is good for a pounding, and a ported box is good for a defined bass reproduction. I currently have 2 12" JL W3 D4 subs but no box. I won't be blasting my ears off like I used to a couple of years ago. I am more into the defined sounds now. So the question is, would a ported box do nicely in a wagon or should I still stick to a sealed box? I have no experience with ported yet. Thanks guys,

N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
It really depends on the model of subwoofer you're using. Different subs like different kinds of boxes.

With your W3s, a sealed box is your fastest ticket to quality bass. The sound will be nice, tight, and snappy. Ported boxes put out a lot more low frequency sound (aka BOOM), and the sound can be a bit sloppier than that from a sealed box. Ported CAN sound good, if the box is designed properly and built perfectly, however.

O

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
actaully thats the other way around. ported will give you a better sound around a certian hertz level. whichever the port is tuned to. the seal is better because it reacts better to quick bass like that in rock music or other types of music. a sealed box is also more forgiving than a ported box if you turn it up too loud.

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by ophidia31:
ported will give you a better sound around a certian hertz level. whichever the port is tuned to.