Chevy Impala SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First I will refer back one week to what Z09B4U asked of me. https://www.impalassforum.com/threads/battery-cable-diy.1317763/#post-12115358 To answer his question of my being Canadian, Nope but I worked with Canadian soldiers at the artillery school when I was an instructor in vehicle maint. And beer was my favorite fruit juice. Cheers Z0
I was finally able to install another end on a cable I'm going to use for a ground. It's #2 gauge welding cable and should work well for me. I used the Harbor Freight hydraulic wire crimper. I've been very pleased with the results. I wish I had found out about the solder slugs before I did the entire set up. Now for the results.
IMG_0312.JPG IMG_0313.JPG IMG_0316.JPG

After I do the crimp I use marine heat shrink to seal it up.
I'm using this type lug because I will go with a top post battery and use military style connectors. IMG_0312.JPG IMG_0313.JPG IMG_0316.JPG IMG_0314.JPG

I've thought for quite awhile we should have a section on tools here. Both store bought and some that we make. Does anyone else feel the same? I've made some posts in the past and one in particular seemed to generate a little interest.
For some unknown reason, to me, some of the pics double posted and I can't remove them.

Mark: Snowman-33

·
Premium Member
1,609 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
helpthe95 asked questions about what was needed to rebuild the diff. Here are some of the tools. I made the one obviously. A seal and race driver helps a bunch and I put in a picture of the axle bearing puller. Other tools you will need will be a press to install bearings and calipers to measure shims. Also add the tool to measure pinion depth, which I told you about in another of your posts.

Attachments

·
Registered
8,126 Posts