Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the chance to buy a 95 Red Caprice wagon, it has 120k on it, mostly highway miles, not wood trim, and red cloth interior. The twist is, I am building an 86 Iroc Camaro, and I need a car later on to pull it on a trailer. My uncle also has a really nice shape 86 Monte Carlo SS, which has about 40k miles on it, and it hasn't been started or ran in many years. Both cars are prolly going to cost me about the same to get where I want them. The wagon just needs a new grill, wheels, and roof rack fillins. It already has a class 3 hitch on it. Now if I got the Monte Carlo I know I couldn't use it to tow the Camaro, because the rated towing capacity isn't the greatest. I have a 94 Camaro Z28 right now that I am trying to get rid of, and I am the decision is between the caprice wagon, and the 86 Monte Carlo SS. Which ever I get it will become a daily driver. I am a GM technician, and miles don't bother me one bit.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
The wagon can tow 5,000 pounds. WIth that much weight The rear end will prob be sinking on a Caprice w/o a autolevel system with a trailer.

If you add helper air bags inside the spring you can tow something that is heavier. I would add them anyway even if you are towing something light. A set of 3.73 gears with a posi would help too. Also a external tranny coolor would be worth your while so the tranny stays nice and cool.

120k is nothing for LT1 car. These cars last forever. If the tranny has not been rebuilt yet, It will pro. dump soon. Most 4L60E transmissions in these cars like to puke at 100-120K range.

Delete the roof rack, Delete the side moldings get an Impala SS grille and some cool wheels and you will have a cool looking tow vehicle. :cool:

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·