Chevy Impala SS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a '94 9C1 Caprice last July with 105,000 miles on it which, up until two weeks ago, has been running great.

Now a year later, she has 110,000 miles and when I hit 2nd gear she struggles, whistles and wanes until I lighten my foot on the gas for her to switch to 3rd & then it's smooth sailing.

I took it to my mechanic today who said I have no transmission fluid, he fills it up then drives it, same thing. He tells me I need to take it to the transmission guy. I take it there, he test drives it and tells me all gears are fine except 2nd, he puts it on the lift and does what he does then tells me the transmission definitely has to come out "there's no way around it." Cost? Between $1100 & $1500. I can honestly say this is cheaper than I thought but I'm a struggling college student trying to save every penny.

Now I have a thousand questions running through my mind. I'm from NY and I live, work and go to school in areas where public transportation is easily accessible. But, after owning a car for four years it has spoiled me. Do I technically NEED a car? No. But I plan on moving to an area in a few months months where I would need a car more than I do right now (moreso to get take my girlfriend around). And after owning a car for four years it's hard to turn back to taking the bus.

My questions are:

1. If I have him rebuild the tranny, will it last me for a long time or will the result be up in the air?

2. Do I have any other options?

3. What would you do?

thanks.

· Registered
2,116 Posts
If I was looking at spending $1100-$1500 on a rebuild, I'd just buy another one, as they run about the same cost, even from the dealer, which includes a 100,000 mile warranty.

· Premium Member
8,748 Posts